Mom Fail.

29 Oct

So yesterday, I lost Max for a little bit. Yup. That’s right lost him. He’s 5 ( a new 5) and for the past few months, Bill and I have let him do his thing outside, by himself and we just go and check on him every so often. Been going well too…until yesterday that is. Usually one or both of us lets him do his thing while we finish up a few things around the house or getting Rory and ourselves ready to head out too and then we are all outside for a bit. But sometimes, like if Rory needs to nurse or needs a nap or if she is sick (like she is now with a cold and an ear infection) she can’t go outside. And I have to stay inside with her. But usually Bill is home and can help me with Rory or with going out and checking on Max. But, a co-worker of his needed yesterday off, and so Bill worked yesterday for this co-worker if the co-worker would work for Bill on Halloween. So it worked out. But left me at home alone with the kids on a weekend. Max had been driving me bonkers all day. I knew he needed to get out of the house, but I knew that if I let him out, Rory would want to go out and shes sick and can’t go out, so at first I was just trying to keep both happy and inside. But then Max heard kids outside playing and asked to go. I said OK. We went over our rules- No hitting. No going in the road. No going by the pop machine (which is in front of the clubhouse and too close to the road) and no taking off socks, shoes, jacket or hat. (a lot of kids either don’t wear these outside or take them off to play and it is too cold to be doing that).  And off he went. Rory got upset that she couldn’t go outside, but after a few min, we ended up having a tea party with some of her babies and all was good. Then she went to the play room to get something got sidetracked, and I used it as an opportunity to start cleaning the living room and kitchen. As my internal “mom” clock wore down, I put on my sweater and shoes and told Rory I’d be right back. I knew she would freak out, but it was going to be a quick run down the stairs and see what Max is up too thing. If I see him and he’s not bleeding I would run back up to the apartment. 1 min tops. So as she was freaking, Max came in. Told me he and Noah needed a snack. I said no, you just had a snack and Noah can go eat at his house. And I reset my “mom” clock and calmed Rory down again. Then she started helping me pick up some toys. And we played Princess for a few min. And once she got into playing I went to go do some laundry. Then Max popped in saying he needed his football. I told him OK and that he had 30 min left. With Rory and I sick, I know its only a matter of days when Max is probably going to get sick, so I didn’t want him outside too much. After he left, Rory came up to nurse. I thought perfect, as soon as she falls asleep, I’ll go bring Max in. Rory didn’t fall asleep and finished up nursing and started playing again and my “mom” clock was winding down again, so I got on the computer real quick to see when Bill would be home. He said he would try to get off at 4, I didn’t know what time it was, I knew it was probably around that time. So I emailed and facebooked him and even made a joke about not seeing Max for awhile…. (ugh), and I went to go get my stuff on to go get Max and I heard boys outside playing. I looked over and saw 3 boys faces peering over the balcony railing, Noah, John and Joey. And I was thinking to myself “Max better not being climbing up there”. So I run out before he could fall off and I don’t see him. And one of the boys, Joey, says he doesn’t know where Max is. And I’m not worried, because there are other kids he plays with, so I head over to the playground, but there is nobody there. I start to head back the back way to our apartment to go check out the field and trees near our apartment but I figure I should check near the pop machine just in case he’s playing football with the bigger boys there. That is wear they like to play football. Nope not there. Still not worried though. I head over to the field, the kids like to explore over there and I don’t see him. I ask the boy if they’ve seen Max yet and they still haven’t, but I’m still not worried because I figure that we’re just missing each other and figure if I keep walking around we’ll run into each other. So I do a quick walk around again, and still can’t find him. I go inside to get Rory cause I figure shes realized I’m not there and is freaking out. We bundle her up and head back outside and the boys ask if I found Max. I tell them no and they get on their bikes and start riding around yelling his name. I’m thinking he might be over a Jacob’s house, but I don’t know which one that is. So I’m hoping he’ll hear the boys and come out to play with them again. We’re walking around looking and then I figure I should ask Taylor if Max is there. The boys come with me and we ask Taylor but he isn’t there. So Taylor and her mom get bundled up and come help us look. Now, I’m getting worried and feel real dumb for not knowing where my kid is. We see a few new kids outside and ask the if they have seen Max and one girl, Madison said that she saw him at the playground up the street with some kids. So I have Rory go to Taylors mom and I run up the street to see if he is there. I see 3 kids and one, is on the swings and Max likes the swings so I’m sure its him, but as I get there, it isn’t and I asked the kids there if they have seen Max, and they hadn’t. So they get on their bikes and start yelling “MAX” and looking for him. I check the lake, because he likes to throw rocks in the lake, but still no Max. Someone suggests we check Josh and Connors house, so I ask Taylors mom if she’ll go check the KOA playground on the other side of a wooded area near our apartments, and I head over there. Half the kids go with Taylors mom the other half come with me. All of the yelling and looking. Just then Bill comes home-  I had messaged him while I was getting Rory ready to come outside telling him I really couldn’t find Max and that he needed to come home asap. So I put Rory in her car seat, we go to Josh and Connors house, but  he wasn’t there either. We were going to just go door to door and ask everybody if they have seen Max because we knew he just had to be at a friends house playing, we just didn’t know which one. And as we were pulling up to the apartment complex, we see Joey and Anna’s mom outside helping and Taylors mom was waving us down and told us they had found him. Where was he?…at Joey and Anna’s house playing with Anna. I guess Joeys mom heard the kids yelling for Max and had asked him if he asked to come over and he told her no, so she immediately brought him out and Taylors mom told her we were looking for him. She felt so bad. Max had his head down and his little chin was quivering. I jumped out of the car and hugged him and thanked everybody for helping us look. And we had a very long talk about asking before you go to a friends house. I showed him all of the people that love him and were scared because we thought he was gone. I felt dumb because I didn’t even think to check their house. I saw Joey and just forgot about Anna. They are in class together at school, but they haven’t really played together much, because Max is either playing with Taylor, or with Noah and Joey, or all 3. But I’m just glad we found him, and he, along with his friends got a “safe” lesson on why you don’t wonder off and why you ask to go to a friends house. So I guess in the end it worked out, and the only thing that got hurt was my mom ego.

But now, Max is sick, Rory is still sick and I’m trying to get better myself. So again… like last month, a day of doing nothing. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

